I don’t support Censorship, I just believe in Moderation

This is the phrase I’ve often hear coming from people who support censorship.
The thing they never thought about is, moderate to whose standards?
Their standard?
When did someone else become the authority of my sensibility and sensitivity?

People who say this tripe need to realize what they are advocating for is thought policing which is a sign of an totalitarian autocracy, the death of democracy.

In my conversation with someone on youtube who advocates this idea, he compared Amos Yee on one end of the spectrum and ISIS on the other end.
Wherein Amos Yee represents the lack of moderation and ISIS as the extremists of censorship.
Which I think is an adorable analogy on just how flawed his thought process is.

There is no in between

There is freedom of speech on the Amos Yee side and there is no freedom of speech on the ISIS side, it’s simple as that.
Well you may complain, what if I get offended?
So fucking what you got offended?
What do you want me to do about it?
Stroke your hair and whisper sweet nothings into your ear and tell you it’s gonna be okay, the bad people are going to leave?
Fuck no, grow a thicker skin and move on.
When did “sticks and stones may break may bones so do words” become a thing?

I am an advocate for human liberties and freedoms.
And I support everyone’s free speech, even yours, you who champion moderation.
I let you speak, then I tell you how stupid you are for not realizing, you’re the extremist.

Oh… and if you have an issue with the word fuck appearing four times in this article, you can sod off, I recall most of you from Singapore do not have an issue with the word sod, which is a synonym of fuck, as it went on air uncensored on Phua Chu Kang where Frankie and PCK were having a banter competing on who can be the biggest poseur English prick.

Peace

I do not agree with what you have to say but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it” – Voltaire

One thought on “I don’t support Censorship, I just believe in Moderation

Leave a Reply

